Secret Names of Milk & Eggs

If you don’t have food allergies, you might not know that milk and egg ingredients are sometimes disguised by another name.  Depending on how strict you want to fast, you might want to know about these “secret” names.  Or maybe you suspect you have food allergies or have a friend with a food allergy and want to learn more.  Some of the items listed with hidden ingredients you obviously wouldn’t eat while fasting, like lunch meat or sausage, but I put it on the list just in case you are curious to know for non-fasting days.

EGGS

Albumin
Apovitellin
Cholesterol free egg substitutes
Coagulant
Dried eggs solids, dried egg
Egg wash
Eggnog
Emulsifier
Fat substitutes
Globulin
Lecithin (could also be derived from soy)
Livetin
Lysozyme
Mayonnaise
Meringue
Ovalbumin
Ingredients that start with Ovo-
Powdered eggs
Silici albuminate
Simplesse
Trailblazer
Vitellin

Anything with Aioli sauce is often made with eggs!  Don’t ask me how I know this…..I accidentally ate something with it. 😦

Common foods that MIGHT contain eggs, so always check the labels of these items

Baked goods, baking mixes, cereals, candy, cookies, creamy fillings, french toast, ice cream, malted drinks, marshmallows (none that I’ve found have eggs, but apparently some do), noodles, creamy salad dressings, pancakes, sherbets, spaghetti, tartar sauce (due to the mayo), Turkish delight, waffles

I couldn’t believe ice cream had eggs but some do!  I’ve looked and it’s true.  Also Gelato has eggs and this is what sets it apart from ice cream.  Interesting, isn’t it?!  🙂

MILK

Butter – artificial butter, butter flavor, butter extract, butter fat, butter flavored oil, butter solids,
Casein & caseinates (this is the protein in the milk.  Cow’s milk has a lot but goats milk has a smaller amount.  This is why some people may be able to eat goat’s milk but not milk from cows.)
Cheese – cheese flavor (artificial and natural), imitation cheese, some vegetarian cheeses have casein in them!
Cream
Curds
Custard
Galactose
Ghee
Hydrolysates
A lot of words that start with Lact are derived from milk, like lactose, lactulose
Powdered milk
Milk fat
Nisin preparation – a preservative that may be derived from milk
Nougat
Pudding
Quark
Recaldent
Rennet
Simplesse (fat replacer)
Whey – lot of types of whey
Yogurt

Items that MAY contain milk/caesin/whey, so always check the label of these items
Chocolate (sorry!!  Dark, expensive chocolate sometimes does not. Enjoy Life makes an allergen-free chocolate that is so yummy!)
Natural flavoring, depending on what it is (can also be derived from soy)
Flavoring, depending on what it is
Caramel flavoring & carmel coloring
High protein flour or protein powders
Lunch meats, hot dogs, sausage (used to bind meats)
Non-dairy products may contain casein
Rice & soy cheese (Go Veggie! lactose free with the green label has milk in it, but their dairy free option in the purple packaging does not)

I hope this list did not overwhelm you!  These are good things to be aware of, whether or not you use it for fasting.  With food allergies on the rise, you will probably encounter someone with a milk or egg allergy in the near future.   Have a blessed day!

Advertisements